Posted by: CeCe | January 20, 2012

When faith isn’t enough

I know I’ve been blogging a lot on religion the last few entries, but I was thinking about this the other day, and I thought I’d put it out there.  I have a lot of interactions with atheists who are almost always shocked when I tell them that I don’t believe all atheists are going to hell.  This might put me at odds with many Christians, but I have my reasons for believing this, and some of them are biblical.

I’m sure nearly everyone in the western world is familiar with what happened in the Bible after Jesus was resurrected, and He was talking to the apostles.  However, there’s one thing that happened that is almost always kind of glossed over.  Thomas, one of Jesus’ apostles, tells Jesus that he cannot believe unless he feels the wounds left by the nails and the sword.  Once he touches them, he is able to believe.  I’m sure everyone has read this at one point or another.  What’s interesting to note is what is not said.  Jesus doesn’t say to Thomas, How dare you ask for more proof after everything you’ve seen, or How dare you ask Me for anything at all.  He simply allows Thomas exactly what he needs to believe.

So what’s my point?  My point is, if faith wasn’t enough for Thomas and he wasn’t cursed for it, why would anyone else for whom faith is not enough be cursed?  I would like to think that if Jesus’ response is indicative of how God would respond, that there would be some concessions made for those to whom no proof was offered.  While a person may be more blessed for having faith according to the Bible, having a lack of belief due to no evidence of any kind shouldn’t curse a person.

I believe in a God who understands our weaknesses and forgives us for them, especially when our hearts are in the right place.  Many atheists are atheists not because they don’t want to believe, or because they’ve been given all this proof and won’t believe, but because they can’t.  They just can’t.  If indeed God does exist and the Bible is true and Jesus really was/is the Son of God, surely no one can be faulted for a lack of belief.

Maybe it’s just wishful thinking on my part.   Maybe many Christians are right and there’s a special place in hell just for atheists and everyone else who doesn’t follow their (or any) brand of Christianity.  But I sure hope not.

Leave a Reply

Categories

