Posted by: CeCe | May 24, 2012

Crap skinny people say

A couple months ago, I put up a blog about being overweight, and how it’s not right for people to attempt to guess why a person is overweight just by looking at them, because they do not know that person’s medical history or their usual daily habits.  That post is here.

I know it’s easy to look at the obese person eating a Double Quarter Pounder at McDonald’s (with their large fries and a Diet Coke, of course) and say, “See?  That’s why they’re so huge!”… but that may not be the case.  It may contribute to their size, but it may not be the whole reason for it.  There could be a number of reasons for why they are the size they are.  But that’s not what I want to write about.  Instead, I want to address the silly and/or hurtful things I’ve heard people say about being overweight or obese.  Maybe you’ve said some of these.  Maybe you’ve even said some of these to me.  If you have, don’t feel bad.  Everyone says the wrong thing at some point, myself included, and believe me when I say that I don’t mind if someone pokes fun at me for it (which is sort of what I’m doing here, for the record).  So without further ado, here are the top 5:

1)  Can’t they just go on a diet?  It sounds so simple… but it’s not.  First, everyone’s body, living situation, money situation, etc. is different.  Second, what kind of diet?  If a person is going to successfully lose weight, they have to make a lifestyle change.  Going on a “diet” to lose 10 pounds like your sister’s roommate is not going to work.  If a person is more than 30 pounds overweight, they have to find a diet and exercise routine that will fit their metabolism and their abilities.  And it is so, so hard to do that.

2)  Oh, you walked two miles?  That’s great, I can run ten.  First, this is so discouraging to someone who is trying to become healthy.  Second… really?  Okay, let’s say there are two students.  The first studies for hours and hours and scores an 85/100 on a test.  They are so proud of this huge accomplishment, so they tell their friends.  One of their friends, who puts in minimal effort and still gets an A in almost every subject says, “Oh, an 85, that’s great, I scored a 98 on that test.”  Think about how that comes across.  Same concept here.  If you have a friend who is trying to get healthy and they’re proud of increasing their distance to even half a mile, there’s only one response that is the right one: That’s great!  Good job!

3)  I didn’t eat anything for three days and I lost five pounds.  If I can do it, anyone can.  There are so many things wrong with this.  First of all, this is not healthy.  Second, everyone’s body is different.  Maybe you can lose five pounds by not eating; that doesn’t mean everyone else can.  It’s sort of like this: Say you have two people who smoke cigarettes.  One of them quits without a problem.  The other is perhaps more addicted, and really struggles with quitting.  Does that make it okay for the first to look down on the second?  Of course not.  Everyone is different!

4)  I was huge, and I lost 20 pounds.  If I can do it, you can too!  Let me just say if this sounds like you, that’s great that you lost 20 pounds.  That is a huge accomplishment, congratulations.  However, being 20 pounds overweight does not make you “huge”, and you losing 20 pounds in no way compares to someone who needs to lose 120.  If you are a female who stands 5’5″ and you go from weighing 150 to weighing 130, although it’s great that you took your BMI from overweight to the normal range, that really does not compare to a woman who is 5’5″, who weighs 250.  Even if she loses 20 pounds, she is still considered obese.  Now think about how hard you had to work to lose that 20 pounds, and imagine multiplying that difficult task by 5, or 10.  If an obese person is going to lose weight, they have to work twice as hard for a lot longer to get their BMI into the normal range.  And there are a lot of things that can happen in that amount of time.  There is a lot of mental work, on top of the physical, that goes into losing that much weight.  Ever watch “The Biggest Loser”?  Notice how at one point, nearly every single one of them breaks down?  And that’s with personal trainers and dietitians and doctors, and without the worries of everyday life.  Now imagine how it is for someone who doesn’t have the benefit of any of that.  You still want to flaunt your 20 pound weight loss to someone who needs to lose 5 times that?

5)  Your clothes must be falling off of you by now!  Okay, I’m going to let everyone in on a secret about plus-size women’s clothing.  You ready?  Okay: Losing 20 pounds will not normally result in being able to go down a size.  The reason for this is that plus-size clothing is made to stretch.  This means that a woman who wears a size 22 may have a waist circumference that would better fit a size 24, or even a size 26.  So what happens when an obese woman begins the process of getting healthy by exercising and watching what she eats is that at first, there’s no discernible difference.  After a month, she may notice that her clothes are fitting a bit better, while other pieces are a bit baggy.  At the end of month two, she may discover that some clothes are baggier, but most just fit a lot better than they once did.  At the end of month three, she may discover that most of her clothes are finally pretty loose.  At the end of month four, her clothes are pretty baggy, and she may have to replace a couple pieces with smaller sizes.  At this point, she has probably lost about 45 pounds.  This is how it will go until she gets into the smaller end of plus-size clothing, and then into the larger end of misses clothing.  So please, don’t tell a person who is trying to get healthy that their clothes should be falling off after just a month or two.

Now I know there are some who couldn’t care less whether or not they offend an overweight person, or discourage them from keep working at their fitness goals.  But I hope that most of those who read this can understand how easy it is to say the wrong thing, and how hard it really is to lose weight.  If you have an obese or overweight friend who is trying to get healthy, the best thing you can do is just celebrate every single little victory with them, because when it comes to losing weight, it takes a whole lot of smaller victories to add up to a very large one.

Responses

  1. im glad you pointed out these things! 🙂

    • Thank you very much! 🙂

  2. I am going to publish video of an exercise called maGic. Once you try this and get miraculous results. Follow my blogs.

  3. Here here, CeCe…You have hit the nail on the head. I know exactly what you are saying and understand totally. I m right there with ya. I went to the doctor this week after having a lipo-protein blood test. I discovered another reason I will never be able to lose weight. Based on GENETICS and DNA I have these bazillion little “bad” LDL fat cells running around my blood stream gobbeling up anything in the blood stream and getting bigger. Now I guess the normal person has about 100-200 of these floating around in their system..I have about 2500..yes that’s right..2500 of them. The doc says no amount of diet or excersize will dissapate them. Talk about my ancestors giving me “bad blood” lol

  4. […] Crap skinny people say (aseekersmusings.wordpress.com) Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintPinterestStumbleUponDiggRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  5. I’m a skinny person and I don’t say any of this crap. As a matter of fact, I was raised by an overweight woman and have never made fun of anyone overweight for many reasons.

    Mostly because as it IS true that I can eat like a hog and not gain weight, I am upset that sometimes my own body image is unappealing to me. I do not fancy bones protruding nor do I like the way I look when I am underweight and my head appears too large for my body. I am the rare person though who can control my weight and how I look by eating all the things that other people can’t even look at without gaining weight.

    However, I grew up not making any distinction between myself at my weight, and anyone elses at theirs because aside from watching my mother struggle with hers (and diabetes) I have NEVER failed to realize that just as frustrating and unappealing to me is my frustration at not being able to gain the weight I would like to be the ‘ideal’ me, so too is the frustration of others to lose to meet their own standards whatever those may be. I think its called not being a judgmental jackass, but you can never be too sure.

  6. […] nights ago, I posted a blog entitled “Crap skinny people say”, which can be found here: https://aseekersmusings.wordpress.com/2012/05/24/crap-skinny-people-say/ and I figured it was only fair I post the other side.  So without further ado, here are the top 4 […]

  7. Yea I know a lot of skinny girls they are not like that at all.But this one girl I know who is a grown woman yet she act like she still in high school.When she sees somone a bit heavier than her she would call them fat and ugly.I know she doesnt eat and she would say she eats a lot.SHe might eat a lot in a day but tomorrow nothing at all.You know when someone has eating disorder,they dont look good at all.

    • You’re right, not all skinny people are like that, which is a good thing! The woman you know sounds very insecure. Sad. 😦

      Thanks for your comment!


Leave a Reply

Categories

