Posted by: CeCe | September 11, 2012

11 years

I wrote this as a note on Facebook for the ten year anniversary of 9/11; I figured that instead of writing something new for today, I’d use this one, because it still sums up how I feel.  We will never forget.

A few days ago, I posted a status in which I said that I wasn’t sure if I wanted to laugh or cry because of all the landmarks this month:  Anniversaries of the deaths of loved ones, birthdays, wedding anniversaries, 9/11.  The more I thought about it, the more I realized that for me to focus more on the negative side of events is not normally characteristic of me, though since my mom’s death it’s something to which I’ve become accustomed.  Bearing in mind the fact that all of us have been inundated with horrifying images from 9/11 over the last few days, I thought I’d shift my focus a little.

There can be no denying that 9/11 changed us forever.  Those of us who are old enough to remember that day clearly, and who watched the events unfold on TV, can tell anyone exactly where we were and what we were doing when we found out.  We can tell anyone how we felt, what we thought about, how we reacted.  I remember sitting on the couch, just staring at the TV with tears running down my face.  Amazing how the deaths of nearly 3000 people, none of whom I knew, affected me.

But instead of talking about the attacks themselves and how terrible it was, let’s talk about the heroism that day, like the 341 firefighters and 2 paramedics from the NYFD, the 23 officers from the NYPD, the 37 from the Port Authority Police Department, and 8 EMTs who gave up their lives.  Let’s talk about the brave people on flight 93 who fought back.  Let’s talk about how thankful it made us for the time we have, and for our loved ones.  Let’s talk about how many people immediately raced to blood banks to donate blood, just to feel like they were doing something.  Let’s talk about how the whole world grieved with us, and extended their condolences and good will to us.  Let’s talk about how, for a short time, we were all united, with no regard towards all the things that separate us, like religion and politics.

Our fear was very real, justified, and palpable… but so was our courage, and our resolve.  The truth is, even and especially in the face of great evil, one can find great strength, bravery, and compassion.   If we allow ourselves to only focus on the evil, if we allow it to cloud everything, it wins.  That, we cannot allow, ever.  And that is what I’d like to reflect on, not only now, on the eve of the 10 year anniversary of 9/11, but every day.

 

Responses

  1. […] 11 years (aseekersmusings.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] 11 years (aseekersmusings.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:Like this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

