Posted by: CeCe | January 8, 2014

Let’s start a movement!

I actually began this post well over a month ago, and just never finished it, and now I’ve been absent for so long I’m probably more than a little rusty.  However, I’ll do my best to finish this out without hating every word.  Ah, but we are our own worst critics, yes?  Onward and upward!

I have a confession to make.  For years, I have struggled with being a “mean girl”, and I’m just now beginning to recognize all the many ways my critical eye toward all my flaws has turned outwards to notice the flaws of others and pick at them.  For example, I had this friend in high school, and I used to joke that she was “all butt”.  The irony, of course, is that my derriere itself is not exactly small (I think I just won understatement of the year, six days in), but that’s not the point.  The point is that I was very mean about her body and overly critical.  And she’s not the only one.  I have started to recognize that I was picking apart nearly every woman I saw, looking for flaws, and then doing the same thing to my own body when I looked in the mirror.

What I’ve noticed, however, is that the less I pick at myself, the less I pick at others, and the more I focus on the beauty of others, the more I’m able to see my own.

I’ve come to the conclusion that this obsession with flaws is extremely harmful both to me, and to others.  I don’t know how men are towards each other, but I do know that in many cases, we women have a very bad habit of being overly critical of one another.  This has to stop.

There is a somewhat new movement being started at universities all over the United States called the “body acceptance movement”; I’d like to see this go nationwide, among all men and women.  It’s similar to the “size acceptance” and “fat acceptance” movements, except that instead of placing emphasis on those who are overweight, the acceptance applies to everyone, regardless of gender or size.  And this is so very important.  I’ve come to believe that not only does picking at others make us actually feel worse about ourselves, but it also communicates that this kind of behavior is acceptable.

It is not.  It’s damaging and unhealthy, and gives us a skewed idea of what beauty really is.

So, I’ve made a vow to myself: I am no longer going to pick apart other women, regardless of their body size or their facial features.   I’m also going to stop picking at myself.  Each day, when I look in the mirror, instead of picking out things about myself that I hate, I’m going to make myself see things that I love.  I’ll still try to change the things I can, but I’m going to stop hating my body over the things that I can’t change without surgery.  And most of all, I’m going to stop being envious of the women whom I believe are more beautiful than I am.  Instead, I’m going to recognize and embrace their beauty, without even a touch of jealousy.

If the fashion industry wants to push an unattainable standard of beauty, this is my push-back against them.  I refuse to be part of that movement.  Will you join me?

Leave a Reply

Categories

